Jump to content


Launch problems after new update?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

Lemmingtrain #1 Posted 10 January 2020 - 10:47 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 1924 battles
  • 912
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-24-2012

Anyone else suffering from launch problems after the new update - I'm unable to launch from either the Game centre (it launches and then crashes immediately after coming up with the with the message "Searching for games currently installed on your computer), nor can I launch directly from the game.exe file.

 

I've checked firewall preferences and reinstalled the GC but the problem persists despite my not having made any software/hardware changes to my PC. The in game support page is less than helpful. 



Tealo #2 Posted 10 January 2020 - 11:26 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 43825 battles
  • 417
  • [RIFF] RIFF
  • Member since:
    04-26-2012
No I haven't but as you mention it! I did have to reapprove permission for Firewall access after WOT updated. I'm using just the bog standard Windows Firewall WG have added something and/or changed one of the ports at a guess.. 

Edited by Tealo, 10 January 2020 - 11:28 AM.


BrinklyWollox #3 Posted 10 January 2020 - 11:46 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 28387 battles
  • 11,416
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015
Upgraded and launched the game with no issues just now. Have you tried an integrity check on your game install and/or starting without mods?

Lemmingtrain #4 Posted 10 January 2020 - 11:54 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 1924 battles
  • 912
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-24-2012

View PostBrinklyWollox, on 10 January 2020 - 10:46 AM, said:

Upgraded and launched the game with no issues just now. Have you tried an integrity check on your game install and/or starting without mods?

 

 

No mods and the launcher crashes shortly after starting so I can't run the integrity check , nor can I get the game to launch from the .exe file. 

 

I've checked all the firewall options and all are OK.  Bit stumped :(



BrinklyWollox #5 Posted 10 January 2020 - 11:58 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 28387 battles
  • 11,416
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015
I'm already out of ideas other than a full re-install. Good luck getting it resolved. :(

Lemmingtrain #6 Posted 10 January 2020 - 12:08 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 1924 battles
  • 912
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-24-2012

View PostBrinklyWollox, on 10 January 2020 - 10:58 AM, said:

I'm already out of ideas other than a full re-install. Good luck getting it resolved. :(

 

 

Sadly I think that's the only option.

 

Bugger!



krismorgan #7 Posted 10 January 2020 - 01:13 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 37516 battles
  • 638
  • [UKT] UKT
  • Member since:
    10-18-2013
Just logged in-all ok

wsatnutter #8 Posted 10 January 2020 - 01:21 PM

    General

  • Beta Tester
  • 26718 battles
  • 9,651
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    08-25-2010
all good here try running in safe mode and see what occurs hope you get it sorted

SastusBulbas #9 Posted 11 January 2020 - 12:58 AM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 35583 battles
  • 2,934
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010

Same issue here, all my games are on a seperate SSD, no titles would launch, even direct from game files, gave up, deleted games and started downloading again.

 

Piss take really, dont have time for this crap, never got time to play as it is, every time I log on some update is going on and here we are with the same bugs that put some of us of Game Center Bull when it was released.

 

GG WG

 

Edit, OH and with Virgin Media's top package, it's taking too bloody long to download, I'm up at 0630h for a 12h day tommorow ffs. Still on 57%

 


Edited by SastusBulbas, 11 January 2020 - 12:59 AM.


Lemmingtrain #10 Posted 11 January 2020 - 01:34 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 1924 battles
  • 912
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-24-2012

View PostSastusBulbas, on 10 January 2020 - 11:58 PM, said:

Same issue here, all my games are on a seperate SSD, no titles would launch, even direct from game files, gave up, deleted games and started downloading again.

 

Piss take really, dont have time for this crap, never got time to play as it is, every time I log on some update is going on and here we are with the same bugs that put some of us of Game Center Bull when it was released.

 

GG WG

 

Edit, OH and with Virgin Media's top package, it's taking too bloody long to download, I'm up at 0630h for a 12h day tommorow ffs. Still on 57%

 

 

Ditto - I have resorted to deleting all WG games and even after running all their tests, and with a clean GC install, the Game Centre still crashes.  I have done everything they recommend but am getting nowhere.  

 

All the checks required are here - they did zip to solve the problem.  How can you check game integrity if you can't get past a Game Centre that will not even load?

 

https://eu.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/10300/#section_0

 

 

 

 

00:37 Added after 2 minute

View Postwsatnutter, on 10 January 2020 - 12:21 PM, said:

all good here try running in safe mode and see what occurs hope you get it sorted

 

 

Unfortunately I couldn't run a check in Safe Mode as the Game Centre crashes before I get the opportunity. 



unhappy_bunny #11 Posted 11 January 2020 - 03:48 AM

    Colonel

  • Moderator
  • 20496 battles
  • 3,920
  • [-OC-] -OC-
  • Member since:
    08-01-2012

I too had no problems with any update, in fact I hadn't even noticed there had been an update.

So in this thread there are 2 players with a problem and 5 player with no problem. What does that tell us? 

It indicates to me that there is something different about the way 2 of you have your systems configured compared to the 5 of us.

I have 1 SSD on which I have the Windows OS and WoT. Thats it. Everything else, other games, photos, whatever is on the HDD. 

I set it up that way because I can then be sure that the SSD has sufficient space free to load any updates.

I discovered that games sometimes fail with updates, and even with launching, because they expect a certain amount of free space in which to load temporary files. That might be something worth checking. Have you enough free space on your drive?

 



Lemmingtrain #12 Posted 11 January 2020 - 01:45 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 1924 battles
  • 912
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-24-2012

View Postunhappy_bunny, on 11 January 2020 - 02:48 AM, said:

I too had no problems with any update, in fact I hadn't even noticed there had been an update.

So in this thread there are 2 players with a problem and 5 player with no problem. What does that tell us? 

It indicates to me that there is something different about the way 2 of you have your systems configured compared to the 5 of us.

I have 1 SSD on which I have the Windows OS and WoT. Thats it. Everything else, other games, photos, whatever is on the HDD. 

I set it up that way because I can then be sure that the SSD has sufficient space free to load any updates.

I discovered that games sometimes fail with updates, and even with launching, because they expect a certain amount of free space in which to load temporary files. That might be something worth checking. Have you enough free space on your drive?

 

 

Hi - plenty of space on the Game Centre install SSD (30Gb left) and WOT SSD (120Gb left).  WoW's was on a separate 4tb HDD.

 

WG's latest advice - "run an integrity check of the game" -  it is impossible to run an integrity check of the game if the Game Centre crashes on launching  and this is where the problem lies :facepalm:



_Patrol #13 Posted 11 January 2020 - 04:34 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Community Contributor
  • 41379 battles
  • 36,262
  • [AW-LE] AW-LE
  • Member since:
    03-07-2011
Right-click on game center icon and select > run as administrator.

Lemmingtrain #14 Posted 11 January 2020 - 04:44 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 1924 battles
  • 912
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-24-2012

Hi - have tried that both before and after a full reinstall of the game centre - still no joy. 
 

WG have passed on the ticket to one of their specialists so fingers crossed they can get a resolution. Thanks for your input all the same - much appreciated. 



tzavelasf #15 Posted 11 January 2020 - 10:57 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 30066 battles
  • 13
  • [EL-AR] EL-AR
  • Member since:
    02-01-2015
I can't play this game since october of 2018. After many tickets they revealed me that my graphics card isn't enough to launch the game i was playing for 3 years in a row. I think every update put out of playing ability more and more pc systems. I am trying every time i remember that this game exists, to find out if they made able to play again game. I lost my passion but they are loosing money ;)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users