How to properly enjoy the game?

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

OnTheVerge #1 Posted 15 January 2020 - 06:52 PM

Private

• Player
  • 8708 battles

Hey everyone,

I hope this doesn't get turned into one of many angry rant threads, as I never meant it to be like that.

I just wanted to ask a genuine question - What do you enjoy about the game, and why do you keep playing?

This is an important question for me, as I feel I've lost the will to play yet again, the moment the holiday event ended :(

I used to play because of 3 main reasons:

1. Tonk fun (generally driving and shooting a tank used to be fun)

2. Want more tonk (there were always unique and cool tanks to look forward to, a goal to keep you sane during grinds)

3. Winning over other players

The third reason is basic: winning in multiplayer games is fun, strokes your ego, makes you feel good about yourself. I rarely had such moments in WoT as I'm a huge noob. There were occasions I remember, but they almost never happen now, as even when I do exceptionally well, I don't feel happy or excited about it, because it feels that it was just luck. Once I learned the basics of positioning and map awareness (just the basics, i'm still a noob), it feels like whether the game is good or not comes down to RNG with shots. I eliminate the pen RNG by loading gold when its risky, but I can't adjust for accuracy RNG. Sometimes every shot somehow pens, hits the last possible pixel of exposed weakpoints, ammoracking and killing half the tank's crew. Sometimes fully aimed sideshots at stationary box tanks from 150 meters miss, multiple times in a row. 

I used to get angry and frustrated when that happened, but I eventually accepted that it is not my fault when it happens, it is just bad RNG. But this took away most of the joy when I actually hit my target. I know I could have missed just the same, and I feel like my damage is not hard earned, but rather the result of luck.