Pay to win?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

SOROS_SCHWARTZ_GYORGY #1 Posted 24 January 2020 - 10:10 AM

Sergeant

• Player
  • 31846 battles
  • [SOROS] SOROS

I am at work and therefore I have a lot of time on my hands to write a post like this. [removed]

It seems to me that there is a general consensus this game has became increasingly pay to win over time, and it that it became increasingly hard for a f2p player to play over time.

I believe that statement is false. I started playing in 2011, and remember quite well how it was back then.

While I agree that the tier 8 premiums which WG are releasing are increasingly powerful, and are indeed better than tech tree tanks, there are many other aspects which make it easier for the f2p player to play the game in 2020 than it was back in 2011-2012.

1) In those early years you could only get gold from CW, or by buying it.

Now you can get gold through frontlines and ranked too, 1-2-3k/season. Useful for demounting, but if you are patient, a decent player, and accumulate enough, you can even buy a premium tank from the tech tree from that. While most tech tree premiums are much worse than non-tech tree premiums, there are some decent tanks there (e.g. patriot, löwe, ELC even, t-54 prototype)

2) In those early years there were no tank marathons.

Period. The only way you could get a credit paying premium tank without paying money was to get the T34 which used to be a tier 9 heavy that was later changed into what it is now. If you had it in your garage, you received it as a premium, additionally you received M103 (which wasn't as bad of a tank back then as it is now).

There are marathons now, if you grind your [edited]off, you can get a tier 8 premium for free. If you don't want to or can't pay (e.g. you are still underaged and your parents won't buy you a prem tank) a dime, this can be a valid option for you.

3) In those early years there was no bonds shop.