Jump to content


What's the point of the 64-bit exe if it's never used?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

rado84 #1 Posted 21 February 2020 - 04:35 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 24402 battles
  • 303
  • Member since:
    08-23-2012
I wonder what's the point of having a 64-bit exe of WOT, if it's never used. My system is 64-bit, my CPU is as well but when I run the game and press alt+tab and run "task manager", I can see the game is running in 32-bit mode - there's a process named "WorldofTanks.exe*32" which means despite my system is 64-bit the game still runs in 32-bit mode.

LeontheProffesional #2 Posted 21 February 2020 - 08:11 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 295 battles
  • 9
  • [KHOG] KHOG
  • Member since:
    02-12-2015
siberian salt mine simulator working as intended.

Overlord93 #3 Posted 21 February 2020 - 09:02 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 13214 battles
  • 249
  • [CROFT] CROFT
  • Member since:
    01-08-2011

First of all "64 bit processor" is just a marketing term, it's really mostly 32bit processor with 48bit address space(not even true 64), and while it can process 64bit int's and float's only few parts of cpu are dedicated to them and a part form some scientists, bankers and encryption programs, nobody uses them much.

Also what are you talking about?

If you go to wot folder and than go to Win64 it shows "WorldofTanks.exe"



Venom7000 #4 Posted 23 February 2020 - 02:03 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 8300 battles
  • 740
  • Member since:
    03-10-2018
I think he meant why is there a "WorldofTanks.exe" file in the wot folder. Instead of the new WG launcher recognising that you have 64bit sys and launching the appropriate game file on its own. If you can only access 64bit game via file digging. Then why have it at all?

Especially if you need to run the wg launcher from time to time to update the game otherwise you cant "
WorldofTanks.exe"

Overlord93 #5 Posted 25 February 2020 - 02:44 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 13214 battles
  • 249
  • [CROFT] CROFT
  • Member since:
    01-08-2011

View PostVenom7000, on 23 February 2020 - 01:03 PM, said:

I think he meant why is there a "WorldofTanks.exe" file in the wot folder. Instead of the new WG launcher recognising that you have 64bit sys and launching the appropriate game file on its own. If you can only access 64bit game via file digging. Then why have it at all?

Especially if you need to run the wg launcher from time to time to update the game otherwise you cant "
WorldofTanks.exe"

Future-proofing and mods.

32bit programs (on Windows) can only use 2GB of RAM, while that's mostly enough for most games it can be limiting if you want to use uncompressed 4k textures, large levels and lots of players/npcs etc

As far as why WG put 32bit client as default, my guess is because it's more stable, i had a few crashes on 64bit client and from what i gather it's fairly new, so just give it time they will transition to 64bit only at some point.



Homer_J #6 Posted 26 February 2020 - 11:49 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 33686 battles
  • 37,622
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

Elsewhere it has been suggested it is for MacOS as the new version will only allow 64bit apps.

 

You can run it but some have had issues with it and it's doubtful you will see any benefit.



SupremeMaster #7 Posted 27 February 2020 - 01:57 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 45599 battles
  • 1,688
  • [EDBFE] EDBFE
  • Member since:
    06-05-2011
I sometimes start directly from that exe and the 32 bit text goes off from control panel and i get somewhat placebo improvement on performance but i want to be sure too..




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users