Jump to content


AMX 12t question.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
21 replies to this topic

brick128 #1 Posted 06 January 2012 - 03:14 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 29702 battles
  • 1,478
  • Member since:
    01-19-2011
Does this tank have a bug in it?

When shooting with the big gun I can fire 4 to 5 shots in a row and then it takes a long time to reload. As if my gun and loader are dead.
After the long reload I can fire some shots rapidly in a row and again long reload time.

This is annoying to say the least. When facing two fast low tier tanks I get killed because out of the blue my reload time is tripled.

Moved to french tank section. Please browse the forums before posting.
~ Kieme


BigDov #2 Posted 06 January 2012 - 03:16 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 8325 battles
  • 518
  • [TXG-F] TXG-F
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010
its the french tanks unique feature, they have a magazine loader so fire 4-6 shots in quick succession but then have to reload the mag, think of it as a .44 magnum but in tank form.

san_tropez #3 Posted 06 January 2012 - 03:20 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 10758 battles
  • 248
  • Member since:
    10-25-2010
Is it even possible to see what guns are using the magazine loading, and which are not? I looked through the stats of some guns, but nothing really stands out.

Plasma_Fire #4 Posted 06 January 2012 - 03:27 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 19636 battles
  • 722
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011
it is a feature that has been added to French tanks and retro fitted to older tanks (now the developers have figured out how to do it ))) )

Its supposed to work like that, it would have a single or ripple fire mode, the developers in their wisdom have decided to make each shell fire with a mouse click instead of a single click ripple fire, otherwise the first shell would hit with subsequent shells suffering from muzzle climb, the tanks are really quite useless (a good reason they where never built inspite of the French willingness to deal arms to any and all).

Working as intended

Tanks retro fitted with the magazine system where noted in what passes for patch notes

brick128 #5 Posted 06 January 2012 - 03:41 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 29702 battles
  • 1,478
  • Member since:
    01-19-2011
Well that sucks big time. In close combat not able to fire your gun kind of ***** the french tanks.

I think I have to learn to deal with it then.

Any way to see when you have to reload or can you put in a new (full)clip before you go harass an enemy tank?

Now I charge a tiger at 28% and after three shots I cant fire for a long time. This is enough for the tiger to kill me. Did I go in with a full mag I would have killed him.

Also when defending the base.
First shot misses while I drive in, second bounces and then I wait and wait to reload, whooops, to late they won.
If I could go in with a full mag I could have saved the day.

Nallurainen #6 Posted 06 January 2012 - 04:19 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9380 battles
  • 6
  • [WAAGH] WAAGH
  • Member since:
    01-28-2011
Maybe you'll remember to load the next time you charge in. :)

Joat #7 Posted 06 January 2012 - 05:01 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6109 battles
  • 889
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011

View Postbrick128, on 06 January 2012 - 03:41 AM, said:

Well that sucks big time. In close combat not able to fire your gun kind of ***** the french tanks.

I think I have to learn to deal with it then.

Any way to see when you have to reload or can you put in a new (full)clip before you go harass an enemy tank?

Now I charge a tiger at 28% and after three shots I cant fire for a long time. This is enough for the tiger to kill me. Did I go in with a full mag I would have killed him.

Also when defending the base.
First shot misses while I drive in, second bounces and then I wait and wait to reload, whooops, to late they won.
If I could go in with a full mag I could have saved the day.

I usually switch to HE then back to AP when I want to reload the mag when an opportunity presents it. That way I almost always have a full mag when I need it. It's not a foolproof method but it helps a lot.

Tanks with mags needs a different playing style which means you have to plan a bit ahead, ie. shoot and scoot while reloading.

JayJay4466 #8 Posted 06 January 2012 - 05:05 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 18320 battles
  • 2,720
  • Member since:
    09-20-2011
Excuse my ignorance (i didn't try the French tanks on the test server) but is it possible to reload a half full magazine manually, so that you can take advantage of a period of breathing space to reload, just like you would in a FPS?

I'm guessing not, but i just wondered.

Joat #9 Posted 06 January 2012 - 05:12 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6109 battles
  • 889
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011

View PostJayJay4466, on 06 January 2012 - 05:05 AM, said:

Excuse my ignorance (i didn't try the French tanks on the test server) but is it possible to reload a half full magazine manually, so that you can take advantage of a period of breathing space to reload, just like you would in a FPS?

I'm guessing not, but i just wondered.

Se my reply above yours....

CrizeCaldron #10 Posted 06 January 2012 - 05:16 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 14465 battles
  • 100
  • Member since:
    07-10-2011

View PostJayJay4466, on 06 January 2012 - 05:05 AM, said:

Excuse my ignorance (i didn't try the French tanks on the test server) but is it possible to reload a half full magazine manually, so that you can take advantage of a period of breathing space to reload, just like you would in a FPS?

I'm guessing not, but i just wondered.

Press c to reload. :)

Cartman666 #11 Posted 06 January 2012 - 07:57 AM

    Colonel

  • Beta Tester
  • 19006 battles
  • 3,919
  • [ASOP] ASOP
  • Member since:
    11-26-2010

View Postsan_tropez, on 06 January 2012 - 03:20 AM, said:

Is it even possible to see what guns are using the magazine loading, and which are not? I looked through the stats of some guns, but nothing really stands out.
I think all the SA4x and higher guns have the magazine:
75mm SA49, 75mm SA50, 100mm SA47, 120mm SA46

SirRoderick #12 Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:03 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 1740 battles
  • 77
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010
Someone said retrofitted to otehr tanks? Non-French tanks then, which ones?

S0ny_B1ack #13 Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:07 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 6060 battles
  • 216
  • [FPDOX] FPDOX
  • Member since:
    12-04-2010

View Postsan_tropez, on 06 January 2012 - 03:20 AM, said:

Is it even possible to see what guns are using the magazine loading, and which are not? I looked through the stats of some guns, but nothing really stands out.

IIRC the french lights get it at tier 5 (6 round mrevolver), heavys at tier 8 (4 rounds revolver) :) Also a lot (maybe all, not sure here) low tier autocannons goot revorked to function with that new mechanic.

AS stated by other earlier you can force the long reload by pressing 'c' - generally that game mechanic is a advantage of the french, when you manage to choose the right moments to reload, you can be extreamly deadly (since during those 6 shots you reload faster than most (almost any) other tank), but yes it can backfire when you run out of your 4/6 shells to early :)

EDIT:

View PostSirRoderick, on 06 January 2012 - 08:03 AM, said:

Someone said retrofitted to otehr tanks? Non-French tanks then, which ones?

Low tier autocannons have been changed for all nations (for example the guns on the pzII)

EDIT2: BTW if you want to know how many shots you have left in your "revolver" you can see it by 2 little numbers on the upper right corner of the picture of the loaded ammunition (there you can see for example 4/6 which means you still have 4 of your 6 possible shots loaded) :Smile_honoring:

von_chom #14 Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:16 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17146 battles
  • 1,414
  • [_CALM] _CALM
  • Member since:
    09-18-2010
this made my day, thank you so much  :Smile-playing:

von_chom #15 Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:19 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17146 battles
  • 1,414
  • [_CALM] _CALM
  • Member since:
    09-18-2010

View Postsan_tropez, on 06 January 2012 - 03:20 AM, said:

Is it even possible to see what guns are using the magazine loading, and which are not? I looked through the stats of some guns, but nothing really stands out.


just check if the tank has loader in its crew .... if there is no loader quess what....

Cartman666 #16 Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:25 AM

    Colonel

  • Beta Tester
  • 19006 battles
  • 3,919
  • [ASOP] ASOP
  • Member since:
    11-26-2010

View Postvon_chom, on 06 January 2012 - 08:19 AM, said:

just check if the tank has loader in its crew .... if there is no loader quess what....
But for example the 90mm F3 gun has no magazine and is mounted as stock gun on the tier 8 heavy (and I think the DCA45 on the tier 9 too). Only the tier 5-7 heavies have a loader.

von_chom #17 Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:27 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17146 battles
  • 1,414
  • [_CALM] _CALM
  • Member since:
    09-18-2010
thats only exception afaik

Eyebot #18 Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:08 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 14870 battles
  • 416
  • [SOBAD] SOBAD
  • Member since:
    05-25-2011
actually two groups of tanks have access to a drum magazine:
- lower tier tanks with semi-automatic cannons. they can also use non-automatic cannons based on the available modules (which won't have the drum magazine). here it depends on the cannon used.
- higher tier french tanks (tier 5+ light/medium; tier 8+ heavy). these tanks have by design a drum magazine. here it doesn't depend on the cannon in use.

ChroTal #19 Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:33 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 19190 battles
  • 1,795
  • Member since:
    10-05-2010
Come on you haters... there is no reason to negrep the OP for lacking the knowledge about this new tank - after all the loading mechnism is not mentioned anywhere ingame!

People only know about this beforehand if they played on the testserver or atched videos...

Crasydwarf #20 Posted 06 January 2012 - 11:21 AM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 11486 battles
  • 2,165
  • Member since:
    12-17-2010
Made me laugh :lol:
Not really your fault, not everyone played the test server. Still funny though.
Anyway ....

  • Starting at the T5 light AMX 12t and at the T8 Heavy AMX 50 100, all tanks have an auto loader mechanism. So get ready for it and adapt.
  • You can see your magazine total number of shells and the remaining shells on the shell icon at the bottom of the screen.
  • You can reload mid clip (if you have ?6 shots for example) by pressing 'c' key.
  •   French tanks with revolvers are burst damage tanks. Fire as much as you can if you have an opportunity, and then back away to safety. Never go for an engagement without a full clip
  • You can check some replays from the test server here. Should give you an idea of what you're going into
Have fun




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users