Jump to content


Does the dual channel RAM greatly improve the game FPS?

dual channel ram game performance fps

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

antwerp_fighter #1 Posted 23 May 2020 - 10:59 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 59092 battles
  • 446
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    01-29-2015

Hi guys,

 

Recently I am planning to buy a new laptop (i7 + RTX 2060) with 16G RAM, but it is single channel: 16x1...

So, I am thinking, is it worth to upgrade to dual channel? 16+8 or 16+16, does it greatly improve the game performance (FPS)?

I mean world of tanks, of course. 

 

thanks!

 

---new update---

just placed an order of a 8G 2666hz DDR4 RAM on Amazon...so I will test it with single and dual channel RAM, hope it worths.

 

 


Edited by antwerp_fighter, 25 May 2020 - 12:33 PM.


Slyspy #2 Posted 23 May 2020 - 11:04 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 15301 battles
  • 17,956
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011
I've going to guess probably not. 

Balc0ra #3 Posted 23 May 2020 - 11:10 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 77209 battles
  • 23,266
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

That depends on the game and if it's memory intensive or not. For most newer titles, you can notice a major boost if you go dual channel on such games. 

 

Take this guy. He played a few titles with a single 8 gb stick, and with two 4 gb sticks. He got 50 fps more using 2 on most titles.

Spoiler

 



Kdingo #4 Posted 23 May 2020 - 11:17 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 32344 battles
  • 7,631
  • Member since:
    07-05-2011

Consider ram a cache/buffer for models/sounds etc, there isn't enough caching/buffering necessary to make a difference.

Unless you use integrated graphic then it can make quite a difference.



Nishi_Kinuyo #5 Posted 23 May 2020 - 11:32 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 10876 battles
  • 7,463
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

View PostBalc0ra, on 23 May 2020 - 11:10 PM, said:

That depends on the game and if it's memory intensive or not. For most newer titles, you can notice a major boost if you go dual channel on such games. 

 

Take this guy. He played a few titles with a single 8 gb stick, and with two 4 gb sticks. He got 50 fps more using 2 on most titles.

Spoiler

 

That's a far bigger difference than I ever expected to see from such a change. :amazed:

Still, framerate isn't as indicative as frame timings (see vid for better explanation).



VsUK #6 Posted 24 May 2020 - 12:13 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 15370 battles
  • 1,649
  • Member since:
    06-19-2012
Yes & no. Duel channel will more likely be noticeable with applications that are memory intensive. However, if you play games that uses up to 90% of your ram, adding more ram to make it duel channel will not only improve your game performance, but also lower ram usage. But it can help lower the stress on your GPU because everything you do on your PC floats in your ram. The more ram, the more efficient & the faster things can function without impacting system performance. But if you want better FPS, I would consider quality settings. Doesn't have to be drastic, but you can play this game with 30fps & the difference would only be noticeable if you're the sort to micro inspect every action & compare it to hundreds of other actions to form a benchmark. 30fps gaming is the bare minimum. Visual beauty has it's costs & that cost is FPS. Do you want gaming speed or gaming beauty. If you want both, then you can be the sort to pay through the nose for top end hardware for the sake of cosmetics. I can play HD full specs without an issue or my FPS dropping below 60. However, I like playing SD with moderate to high settings because I also like to multitask as I play.

Personally, this is 2020. Asking if duel channel can help like you're only using a single channel, is like asking if moving the PC closer to the telephone socket will help improve dial up speeds. 

Buy the same amount of ram your current memory module has & stick it in, even if it doesn't significantly improve FPS, it'll improve your overall system performance. Doesn't have to be the same brand, just the same size & speed, although speed isn't really an issue as most ram are backward speed compatible so will run at the speed of the slowest ram. 

So my advice as someone who knows, get that upgrade Mr!

Homer_J #7 Posted 24 May 2020 - 02:45 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 33857 battles
  • 38,198
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

The difference between single and dual channel in the real world was always minimal.

 

If you like to brag about your benchmark figures then dual channel will be important, in WoT you won't see much difference.

 

View Postantwerp_fighter, on 23 May 2020 - 10:59 PM, said:

 

So, I am thinking, is it worth to upgrade to dual channel? 16+8 or 16+16,

 

 

For dual channel to work you need matched pairs so 16+8 isn't going to work.

 

16 is overkill for WoT anyway, you may as well stick £50 notes in the back of the machine as put the extra 16GB of RAM in it, the effect will be the same.



NUKLEAR_SLUG #8 Posted 24 May 2020 - 06:51 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 36967 battles
  • 6,101
  • [FISHY] FISHY
  • Member since:
    06-13-2015

Dual channel is beneficial although the difference may not be obvious in every application. If I was doing that tho I would go 2x8. 16gb is more than enough for current games with ample headroom, you wouldn't want to go less on a new machine.

 

16x16 would be massive overkill unless you're also planning to use the machine for some heavily memory intensive applications that you might actually need 32gb for. 



Captain_Kremen0 #9 Posted 24 May 2020 - 08:56 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 40169 battles
  • 2,570
  • [TFMB] TFMB
  • Member since:
    06-04-2011
My lappy has an i7 and 1070. It knocks WoT out of the water with 8g single channel. And owt else I throw at it. You don't need to worry

Randomar #10 Posted 24 May 2020 - 09:10 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 32204 battles
  • 262
  • Member since:
    10-18-2015

View Postantwerp_fighter, on 23 May 2020 - 10:59 PM, said:

Recently I am planning to buy a new laptop (i7 + RTX 2060) with 16G RAM, […]

 

Who is the manufacturer?
Who's the vendor?



antwerp_fighter #11 Posted 24 May 2020 - 09:30 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 59092 battles
  • 446
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    01-29-2015

Thanks, guys, I will not add one more RAM any time soon.

 

View PostRandomar, on 24 May 2020 - 09:10 AM, said:

 

Who is the manufacturer?
Who's the vendor?

ASUS ROG, on bol.com (a popular online shopping website in Benelux area)



arthurwellsley #12 Posted 24 May 2020 - 12:35 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 55915 battles
  • 4,339
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    05-11-2011

View Postantwerp_fighter, on 24 May 2020 - 08:30 AM, said:

Thanks, guys, I will not add one more RAM any time soon.

 

ASUS ROG, on bol.com (a popular online shopping website in Benelux area)

 

I recently bought a Gigabyte Aero. It plays World of Tanks on ultra settings at about 140-150 fps. Not sure how that compares in price with your ASUS ROG. The Gigabyte Aero is 16gb RAM in two 8gb sticks.

 

https://www.scan.co....-max-q-win10-ho



shikaka9 #13 Posted 24 May 2020 - 12:36 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 78403 battles
  • 2,404
  • [-SJA-] -SJA-
  • Member since:
    02-27-2013
no, EBRs still be a problem :popcorn:

Robbie_T #14 Posted 24 May 2020 - 01:35 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22512 battles
  • 1,416
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    07-08-2016

View Postantwerp_fighter, on 23 May 2020 - 10:59 PM, said:

Hi guys,

 

Recently I am planning to buy a new laptop (i7 + RTX 2060) with 16G RAM, but it is single channel: 16x1...

So, I am thinking, is it worth to upgrade to dual channel? 16+8 or 16+16, does it greatly improve the game performance (FPS)?

I mean world of tanks, of course. 

 

thanks!

 

 

Strange never seen a laptop that uses only 1 ram slot

And WTH you buy a laptop on Bol.com......

if you will get problems with it in warranty...you have to send it to bol.com and they have to send it out also.

that gonna be a lot of waiting time...

 

I would buy it in a pc store in your neighboorhood.

I had a laptop and had a problem in warranty the pc store lend me a even better laptop for the time my laptopp was away.

And now its out of warranty they can fix almost everything them selfs. 

And 16gb of ram is enough for WOT....any new laptop anno 2020 can run WOT perfectly....(well maybe the verry cheap less good)

 

 

 


Edited by Robbie_T, 24 May 2020 - 01:45 PM.


antwerp_fighter #15 Posted 24 May 2020 - 01:44 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 59092 battles
  • 446
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    01-29-2015

View Postarthurwellsley, on 24 May 2020 - 12:35 PM, said:

 

I recently bought a Gigabyte Aero. It plays World of Tanks on ultra settings at about 140-150 fps. Not sure how that compares in price with your ASUS ROG. The Gigabyte Aero is 16gb RAM in two 8gb sticks.

 

https://www.scan.co....-max-q-win10-ho


 thanks for the input, ultra setting in HD client? 140-150 looks pretty good!

its slightly below 1300 Euros, with 9th gen i7, and exact same configure of the rest parts (16g, rtx 2060, 144hz screen, 512g ssd...)

Have to say, the price of laptop in UK is absurd...

with 1700 pounds (or 1900 Euros), you can get a decent i7 + rtx 2070...

12:50 Added after 5 minute

View PostRobbie_T, on 24 May 2020 - 01:35 PM, said:

Strange never seen a laptop that uses only 1 ram slot

And WTH you buy a laptop on Bol.com......

if you will get problems with it in warranty...you have to send it to bol.com and they have to send it out also.

that gonna be a lot of waiting time...

 

I would buy it in a pc store in your neighboorhood.

I had a laptop and had a problem in warranty the pc store lend me a even better laptop for the time my laptopp was away.

And now its out of warranty they can fix almost everything them selfs. 

And 16gb of ram is enough for WOT....any new laptop anno 2020 can run WOT perfectly....(well maybe the verry cheap less good)

 

 

 


because its cheaper...

i7 9750h+RTX 2060+16g ram+512g ssd+144hz screen = 1250 Euros...for a ASUS ROG...

And the reputation of ROG around me are pretty good..

 



qpranger #16 Posted 24 May 2020 - 01:54 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 38889 battles
  • 6,404
  • [HAMMY] HAMMY
  • Member since:
    12-25-2013

Dual barrel is so yesterday.

Triple barrel is the real deal.

Oops, I meant channel.



smokeytheband1t #17 Posted 24 May 2020 - 02:08 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10880 battles
  • 255
  • Member since:
    12-05-2016

Dual channel memory = a huge difference over single channel.

 

never run single channel.



nc30_guy #18 Posted 24 May 2020 - 03:38 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 27493 battles
  • 501
  • Member since:
    12-23-2011
Dual channel will improve most aspects of the pc performance as for games load times will be better but graphics cards now have more of an impact of the visuals than the old days where the cpu would do it's fair share of the calculations.

antwerp_fighter #19 Posted 26 May 2020 - 11:56 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 59092 battles
  • 446
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    01-29-2015

View Postarthurwellsley, on 24 May 2020 - 12:35 PM, said:

 

I recently bought a Gigabyte Aero. It plays World of Tanks on ultra settings at about 140-150 fps. Not sure how that compares in price with your ASUS ROG. The Gigabyte Aero is 16gb RAM in two 8gb sticks.

 

https://www.scan.co....-max-q-win10-ho


hi, just got my new laptop yesterday, test it, my result is:

1080p (HD client), all ultra highest, 120-140 fps (sometimes it becomes 180fps...and drops quickly) in random games, and 90-110 in front line mode.

 

And already placed an order of a 8GB RAM from amazon, probably will get it on Friday! hope the dual channel can boost the fps little bit.

 


Edited by antwerp_fighter, 26 May 2020 - 11:56 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users