Jump to content


Starting training rooms alone


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

roboslash #1 Posted 27 June 2020 - 12:57 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13468 battles
  • 231
  • [-1O1-] -1O1-
  • Member since:
    04-11-2012

I don't see why you shouldn't be able to do so. I (at least) would find it really useful to test out things, and explore new maps such as Berlin, without requiring a friend or another player to be a part of the lobby. There are certainly many other, major problems with this game, but I'm sure some people would appreciate this QOL change. Seems simple enough to implement as well, unless WG doesn't have the server capacity for this.

 



Homer_J #2 Posted 27 June 2020 - 07:01 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 33958 battles
  • 38,521
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

The reason was that it takes as much server capacity to run a training room as a proper battle.

 

But if you have a second PC you can create another account and then make your own training room.  Doesn't have to even be a decent PC, it only needs to be able to load the game.



Kdingo #3 Posted 27 June 2020 - 07:04 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 33334 battles
  • 8,944
  • Member since:
    07-05-2011
They should allow a local hosted offline training room. So people can explore the maps without requiring someone else, 2nd pc, or add to the server load.

hjorte #4 Posted 27 June 2020 - 07:06 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 22498 battles
  • 282
  • Member since:
    03-16-2014
I would find it very useful.

Venom7000 #5 Posted 27 June 2020 - 07:08 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9101 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    03-10-2018

I 2nd KDingos suggestion! This is a must!!

 

In all my time in WOT i never had a training session.  Because WG doesn't offer "dont show lobbies that are busy in game".

I always join one where I have to wait for other players to finish.

 

I dont see how this was never implemented. 



Homer_J #6 Posted 27 June 2020 - 07:15 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 33958 battles
  • 38,521
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostKdingo, on 27 June 2020 - 07:04 PM, said:

They should allow a local hosted offline training room. So people can explore the maps without requiring someone else, 2nd pc, or add to the server load.

 

That would mean giving us teh server code, which would mean giving cheat writers the server code.  It would also allow people to set up unofficial servers.

 

So it isn't going to happen.

 

The workaround I posted really means that the restriction is pointless but the best you can hope is WG will either allow solo training rooms or training rooms with bots.



Bora_BOOM #7 Posted 27 June 2020 - 08:05 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 32686 battles
  • 4,292
  • [DID0] DID0
  • Member since:
    08-23-2014
Limit the number of avaliable training rooms so they don't congest the server. Allow single player training rooms to some percentage of total available rooms at the given moment dependable of the overall figure. Kill inactive rooms. Simple. 

Venom7000 #8 Posted 27 June 2020 - 08:09 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9101 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    03-10-2018

Homer_J However WG decides to approach this problem and make this possible is fine by me.

No one obviously wants to compromise the game itself. But we need this badly.  :)



Bora_BOOM #9 Posted 27 June 2020 - 08:16 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 32686 battles
  • 4,292
  • [DID0] DID0
  • Member since:
    08-23-2014
I would accept having it enabled during the low population of players logged on. Having anyone to spend their time so I can try the water line driving on Artic Region is stupid and inconvenient.

Jin91 #10 Posted 27 June 2020 - 09:31 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3175 battles
  • 454
  • Member since:
    12-29-2018
Warthunder even lets you test premium tanks before buying them :3

hjorte #11 Posted 28 June 2020 - 11:01 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 22498 battles
  • 282
  • Member since:
    03-16-2014
Giving new or any players a chance to practise maps might even improve gameplay.

NekoPuffer_PPP #12 Posted 28 June 2020 - 11:06 AM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 37087 battles
  • 5,434
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 27 June 2020 - 07:01 PM, said:

The reason was that it takes as much server capacity to run a training room as a proper battle.

 

If there is only one person on the map, it can be run client-side, rather than server-side.

 

Have they not thought of that?...



Balc0ra #13 Posted 28 June 2020 - 01:06 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 77836 battles
  • 23,619
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostKdingo, on 27 June 2020 - 07:04 PM, said:

They should allow a local hosted offline training room. So people can explore the maps without requiring someone else, 2nd pc, or add to the server load.

 

View PostNekoPuffer_PPP, on 28 June 2020 - 11:06 AM, said:

 

If there is only one person on the map, it can be run client-side, rather than server-side.

 

Have they not thought of that?...


Driving around and other tank moving vs map hitbox etc along with aspects on how some things works then needed to be server-side too. As in saying how parts of the code that is only server-side works. As nothing of that aspect is on your client as is.

 

Now, ofc you could do a sperate launcher in the root folder for a "free" cam mode of the map. No hitbox needed, no tank physics, or anything server-side. Just the visuals of the map you already have and the animations on it. Thus you don't use anything you don't already have on your client. As in info we already know. And can fly around to explore the map at will. Check for spots, angles, what you see from there. Place markers down, tank models etc so you can move to a different spot and check FOV or even if you can hit a tank from there, or if you can stay in cover there. Don't need to be more complicated than that with the info we already have if you will.



Homer_J #14 Posted 28 June 2020 - 04:25 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 33958 battles
  • 38,521
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostNekoPuffer_PPP, on 28 June 2020 - 11:06 AM, said:

 

If there is only one person on the map, it can be run client-side, rather than server-side.

 

Have they not thought of that?...

 

Like I said, that would need the server code to be distributed to clients.

 

I don't really see any need to restrict it to two or more players except maybe the server won't start without two clients but since it's so trivial to get round I don't think changing it is a high priority.



roboslash #15 Posted 28 June 2020 - 05:03 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13468 battles
  • 231
  • [-1O1-] -1O1-
  • Member since:
    04-11-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 28 June 2020 - 04:25 PM, said:

 

Like I said, that would need the server code to be distributed to clients.

 

I don't really see any need to restrict it to two or more players except maybe the server won't start without two clients but since it's so trivial to get round I don't think changing it is a high priority.

 

Ngl at this point, nothing seems like a high priority for WG.



demon_tank #16 Posted 28 June 2020 - 05:59 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 29292 battles
  • 1,968
  • [PC-X] PC-X
  • Member since:
    11-18-2012

View PostJin91, on 27 June 2020 - 08:31 PM, said:

Warthunder even lets you test premium tanks before buying them :3

You can get premium tanks as rentals in WOT you know. Sure its not all the time available but you can have a chance to test one every few months and you can still test the premium tanks that are found in-game on Test servers.


Edited by demon_tank, 28 June 2020 - 06:00 PM.


In_memory_of_Bud_Spencer #17 Posted 28 June 2020 - 06:12 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23551 battles
  • 1,029
  • [-V-A-] -V-A-
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011

View PostHomer_J, on 27 June 2020 - 07:01 PM, said:

The reason was that it takes as much server capacity to run a training room as a proper battle.

 

But if you have a second PC you can create another account and then make your own training room.  Doesn't have to even be a decent PC, it only needs to be able to load the game.

 

I do not know, if this still works, but some years ago it was possible without a second PC with the software "sandboxie".


Edited by In_memory_of_Bud_Spencer, 28 June 2020 - 06:13 PM.


StronkiTonki #18 Posted 28 June 2020 - 08:08 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Clan Commander
  • 36311 battles
  • 1,567
  • [T0AST] T0AST
  • Member since:
    05-27-2011

Crossout lets you drive from inside your garage at any moment to test your vehicle.

Even Armored Warfare lets you test any vehicle in a training room at any moment.



Bordhaw #19 Posted 28 June 2020 - 09:11 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 16422 battles
  • 5,557
  • Member since:
    01-29-2017

View PostHomer_J, on 27 June 2020 - 06:01 PM, said:

The reason was that it takes as much server capacity to run a training room as a proper battle.


20 years ago...



Orkbert #20 Posted 29 June 2020 - 11:42 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 30200 battles
  • 2,561
  • Member since:
    08-29-2013

We can run replays without an internet connection, so some iteration of the maps are undoubtedly already on our hard drives.

 

But given how they are unable to do something about pingspamming the minimap it is no wonder that they can't create something like solo training rooms either.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users