Jump to content


Need help getting WoT to run smooth on a bad PC


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

Ratriq #1 Posted 05 July 2020 - 12:26 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6894 battles
  • 759
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    07-07-2013
Okay, so I've been trying to get my friend to start playing WoT and I actually got him to start the game and see how fluid it would play for him. It's safe to say, considering he got quite a bad laptop he was forced to turn the graphics all down to the lowest of the lowest. I thought that would be enough considering WoT is still a game from 2010/2011.

Well surprise, surprise, he only managed to reach a "good" 20 fps after lowering all graphics to the lowest possible options in the graphics menu. So do anyone know any more ways to increase fps for WoT via mods or by any other means?

MeetriX #2 Posted 05 July 2020 - 12:32 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 27667 battles
  • 5,049
  • [_ACE] _ACE
  • Member since:
    08-12-2012

Define bad.

I have E-240, HD6130, 4gig RAM (shared), Win7.

0-25 FPS (Not smooth obviously)

 

No mods.

I have killed everything I could thing of except AV. I should probably do that too.



Crasharr #3 Posted 05 July 2020 - 12:34 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 17830 battles
  • 181
  • [DGAH] DGAH
  • Member since:
    07-31-2013

Build a better PC!

 

System requirements:

  •   Type Minimal Recommended
      Operating System Windows 7/8/10 Windows 7/8/10 - 64 bit
      Internet Connection 256 Kbps 1024 Kbps or higher (for voice chat)
      Free hard drive space ~ 40 GB ~ 40 GB
      Video Card NVIDIA GeForce 8600, ATI Radeon HD 4550 GeForce GTX660 (2 GB)/Radeon HD 7850 (2 GB)
      Memory (RAM) 2 GB 4 GB (or more)
      Processor (CPU) A processor with two or more physical cores supporting SSE2 technology Intel Core i5 (Desktop)


Ratriq #4 Posted 05 July 2020 - 12:39 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6894 battles
  • 759
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    07-07-2013

View PostMeetriX, on 05 July 2020 - 11:32 AM, said:

Define bad.

Well, I don't exactly know his specs, haven't asked him about them, I just know that his laptop is just really bad, since he usually just sticks to playing Minecraft, since that's the only game his laptop can handle that he enjoys playing.

I'm surprised though, considering I remember playing on a laptop back in 2013 and WoT ran mostly fine for me if I remember correctly.

11:41 Added after 2 minute

View PostCrasharr, on 05 July 2020 - 11:34 AM, said:

Build a better PC!

Yeah, he's saving up for one, but that's probably still a while off until he can afford to build one considering money is still currently an issue for him.


Edited by Ratriq, 05 July 2020 - 12:45 PM.


_AchmetSchachbrett_ #5 Posted 05 July 2020 - 12:44 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 868 battles
  • 1,137
  • [-ST_] -ST_
  • Member since:
    02-25-2014

View PostMeetriX, on 05 July 2020 - 12:32 PM, said:

Define bad.

I have E-240, HD6130, 4gig RAM (shared), Win7.

0-25 FPS (Not smooth obviously)

 

No mods.

I have killed everything I could thing of except AV. I should probably do that too.

 

why would you do that? i cant imagine playing on such low end hardware can be an enjoyable experience... i mean that stuff is almost 10 years old and even back then it was low end



Orkbert #6 Posted 05 July 2020 - 12:58 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 30308 battles
  • 2,572
  • Member since:
    08-29-2013

View PostRatriq, on 05 July 2020 - 12:39 PM, said:


I'm surprised though, considering I remember playing on a laptop back in 2013 and WoT ran mostly fine for me if I remember correctly.

 

Well, that was the WoT of 2013, nowadays with the different physics, HD maps and so on it is no wonder that it no longer runs smoothly.

 

As for what your friend might do until he gets a better is lowering the resolution if possible.

 

Once in the past when my old CRT monitor went out of power and I briefly had to use an smaller backup I had to lower my resolution from 1600x1200 down to 800x600 and the FPS increased by roughly 50% (of course I then got a new flatscreen afterwards anyways)

 



MeetriX #7 Posted 05 July 2020 - 01:02 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 27667 battles
  • 5,049
  • [_ACE] _ACE
  • Member since:
    08-12-2012

View Post_AchmetSchachbrett_, on 05 July 2020 - 02:44 PM, said:

 

why would you do that? i cant imagine playing on such low end hardware can be an enjoyable experience... i mean that stuff is almost 10 years old and even back then it was low end

Low end?

You have no idea. :D

 

This was over 5 years old when it was brand new. (And that is a compliment.)

Can barely run Stalker from 2006 with min settings.

The CPU is meant for tablets. I have no idea why any manufacturer ever build thing like this.

This can't even idle properly without heavy tweaking.

A microwave oven has more power.

 

Why I use this?

I don' have anything else.

 

I was curious can it run the game.

It should not, but somehow it can.



_AchmetSchachbrett_ #8 Posted 05 July 2020 - 01:09 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 868 battles
  • 1,137
  • [-ST_] -ST_
  • Member since:
    02-25-2014
why not get something used that is way faster? even a decade old intel core 2 quad or amd phenom 2 system that you can get for 40-50 bucks on ebay is probably 10 times faster... having more fps and no lags will also increase your performance ingame by quite a lot

Isharial #9 Posted 05 July 2020 - 01:17 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 27093 battles
  • 2,786
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostMeetriX, on 05 July 2020 - 12:32 PM, said:

Define bad.

I have E-240, HD6130, 4gig RAM (shared), Win7.

0-25 FPS (Not smooth obviously)

 

No mods.

I have killed everything I could thing of except AV. I should probably do that too.

 

that machine would probably "run" better on Win 10 now given the optimisations they've made. Win 7 uses up 2gb+ of your ram, whereas Win 10 will be 1gb or less depending on running programs.

 

i had a laptop with a Celeron T3100 (iirc) and 2gb ram (yes, 2gb, the other 2gb stick fried) and running Windows 10. it was originally a 7 machine but it was awful on it. it became usable on Win 10 and even could play games such as Racedriver Grid (the original one, not the 2019 version). i never tried it on tanks but it probably would have run that too, though the 1 usable GB of ram would have really hampered it i think

it was a bad laptop back then and only cost about £160 second hand (back in 2011). it *did* need some work done before it was useable however; some berk at PCworld stuck bluetack as heatsink rather than paste/pad - the black gunge created by burnt bluetack is a horrible thing to remove from a motherboard..... :facepalm:

 

beyond that, the only thing i can think of is: use an SSD - it would boost up the ability for it to access the drive, which might make a small difference in tanks

 

which AV do you use? i found that AVG tends not to use as much resources when running as more "Mainstream" AV's, though im sure there are less resource impacting ones than that too. - its also free and easy to get rid of if it doesnt do the job - unlike others (*ahem* mcafee...) 

12:18 Added after 0 minute

View Post_AchmetSchachbrett_, on 05 July 2020 - 01:09 PM, said:

why not get something used that is way faster? even a decade old intel core 2 quad or amd phenom 2 system that you can get for 40-50 bucks on ebay is probably 10 times faster... having more fps and no lags will also increase your performance ingame by quite a lot

 

because not everyone has the luxury of a job or money atm? how ignorant are you?



MeetriX #10 Posted 05 July 2020 - 01:28 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 27667 battles
  • 5,049
  • [_ACE] _ACE
  • Member since:
    08-12-2012

View PostIsharial, on 05 July 2020 - 03:17 PM, said:

 

that machine would probably "run" better on Win 10 now given the optimisations they've made. Win 7 uses up 2gb+ of your ram, whereas Win 10 will be 1gb or less depending on running programs.

 

i had a laptop with a Celeron T3100 (iirc) and 2gb ram (yes, 2gb, the other 2gb stick fried) and running Windows 10. it was originally a 7 machine but it was awful on it. it became usable on Win 10 and even could play games such as Racedriver Grid (the original one, not the 2019 version). i never tried it on tanks but it probably would have run that too, though the 1 usable GB of ram would have really hampered it i think

it was a bad laptop back then and only cost about £160 second hand (back in 2011). it *did* need some work done before it was useable however; some berk at PCworld stuck bluetack as heatsink rather than paste/pad - the black gunge created by burnt bluetack is a horrible thing to remove from a motherboard..... :facepalm:

 

beyond that, the only thing i can think of is: use an SSD - it would boost up the ability for it to access the drive, which might make a small difference in tanks

 

which AV do you use? i found that AVG tends not to use as much resources when running as more "Mainstream" AV's, though im sure there are less resource impacting ones than that too. - its also free and easy to get rid of if it doesnt do the job - unlike others (*ahem* mcafee...) 

12:18 Added after 0 minute

 

because not everyone has the luxury of a job or money atm? how ignorant are you?

E-240 was designed together with Win8 or Win8.1.

This has 64bit Win7. :facepalm:

 

This laptop was free. So spending any money on it will be foolish.

 



Robbie_T #11 Posted 05 July 2020 - 04:17 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22938 battles
  • 1,555
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    07-08-2016

Buy a second hand pc.

I had a i7920 gtx 760 10gb  till a couple of months ago and runned WOT in SD  fine.

I think such pc cost you about 100 euro.

 

 



Ratriq #12 Posted 05 July 2020 - 05:28 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6894 battles
  • 759
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    07-07-2013

View PostOrkbert, on 05 July 2020 - 11:58 AM, said:

Well, that was the WoT of 2013, nowadays with the different physics, HD maps and so on it is no wonder that it no longer runs smoothly.

Yeah while psychics are more evolved now, I don't know about HD maps and all that, since from my knowledge, while WoT's graphics have improved massively over the years, they haven't removed the lower graphic options, just added more high-spec options.

Thus HD maps still have low res counterparts and all that, I remember playing a bit with the lowest graphic options a while ago for nostalgia with my T-50-2 and the graphics felt quite similar, in other words, just as bad.



MR_FIAT #13 Posted 05 July 2020 - 05:45 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 21692 battles
  • 1,640
  • [_RBP_] _RBP_
  • Member since:
    05-16-2015
arent there like low graphics mods out there? that like compress the textures and turn the models into potato quality.

jack_timber #14 Posted 05 July 2020 - 05:45 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 45821 battles
  • 3,966
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Try Windowed borderless, seems to run better on lower spec PC or even in a window. Make sure there's nothing running in background.

 



_6i6_ #15 Posted 05 July 2020 - 05:49 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 26638 battles
  • 618
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    03-22-2018

I think the Pro Mod on WG's page should help for low end pc's.

And if im not mistaken, aslains mod has a slew of options to turn off any unwanted effects etc which might help



_AiSaatana #16 Posted 05 July 2020 - 06:10 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 35020 battles
  • 202
  • [KOSTO] KOSTO
  • Member since:
    08-22-2011
Just sold i5-3570k, 16gb ram 1070gtx computer with 280 euros. That run wot about 150fps everything maxed at 1080P.

qpranger #17 Posted 05 July 2020 - 06:26 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 38889 battles
  • 7,016
  • [HAMMY] HAMMY
  • Member since:
    12-25-2013
I wish Wargaming optimised graphics for bad PCs so that people would not have to buy good new PCs.

OofBerry #18 Posted 05 July 2020 - 06:32 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 23024 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    05-27-2015
There are mods that remove the clouds, remove exhasut effects and other smoke etc that are designed to improve performance.

qpranger #19 Posted 05 July 2020 - 06:45 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 38889 battles
  • 7,016
  • [HAMMY] HAMMY
  • Member since:
    12-25-2013

View PostOofBerry, on 05 July 2020 - 08:32 PM, said:

There are mods that remove the clouds, remove exhasut effects and other smoke etc that are designed to improve performance.

 

I think some players also use mods that remove enemy tanks.



catlikehana #20 Posted 05 July 2020 - 06:50 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21408 battles
  • 338
  • Member since:
    11-02-2011

Another thing to try other than lowering settings is to download mods as said above / / 

These will go a lot further than in-game options, the game may look bad as a result but it's a price to pay for stability.


Edited by moenie, 05 July 2020 - 06:52 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users