Jump to content


Is it me or the Skorpion G is really inaccurate?

Skorpion G Inaccuracy RNG Hidden stats

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

frange #21 Posted 03 September 2020 - 05:57 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 34287 battles
  • 437
  • [FRNR] FRNR
  • Member since:
    10-25-2013
If you google, there are a ton of threads like this here, in Reddit and other forums. All popped up in early 2017 just after 9.17 update - since that update a lot of people saying the same thing, and asking if it was nerfed. I did noticed the change as well - before it was one of my go-to-prem tanks for printing credits - but just over night (over update) it turned just so much worse. So apperantly something happened to the Skorp - but ofc WG deniying everything cause they would not nerf  (or nerfing the visible stats for) a tank sold for cash - right?

Slyspy #22 Posted 03 September 2020 - 06:07 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 15519 battles
  • 18,422
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011

View PostObsessive_Compulsive, on 03 September 2020 - 05:20 PM, said:

I find my russian heavy tanks have 'good sigma' if that is a thing, literally just aim in the general direction and blap!

 

This is because the snap shot with the inaccurate gun which actually hits is not the norm - you remember the outstanding result. Likewise when you miss with the accurate gun.



Balc0ra #23 Posted 03 September 2020 - 06:09 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 79284 battles
  • 24,538
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostRunes_Of_Ragnarok, on 03 September 2020 - 03:25 PM, said:

I have 72.02% in my STRV S1, and the thing has 0.29 dispersion at 100m in siege mode

 

Start with that next time, vs comparing it to a derp HT that has 90% his shots done at 50m with basically 0.20 effective dispersion. Gives your argument a more valid start point. 

 

View PostFodboldt, on 03 September 2020 - 04:26 PM, said:

 

It is a theory from Claus Kellerman...  

 

Do people still use him as a valid case argument for his "research"?  Not followed him in ages as his channel went from humorous to tinfoil rants rather fast. But the last video I did see of him, he raged that his HE did not overmatch... I did not resub, to say the least. 


Edited by Balc0ra, 03 September 2020 - 06:09 PM.


LethalWalou #24 Posted 03 September 2020 - 06:15 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 36564 battles
  • 4,360
  • Member since:
    09-17-2012

View PostBalc0ra, on 03 September 2020 - 05:09 PM, said:

Do people still use him as a valid case argument for his "research"?  Not followed him in ages as his channel went from humorous to tinfoil rants rather fast. But the last video I did see of him, he raged that his HE did not overmatch... I did not resub, to say the least. 

 

Yes they do, and only in increasing fashion.

 

And what do you mean? That HE shouldn't overmatch? That's nonsense, the most reliable source for information, tanksgg, shows that it should overmatch. They never make any mistakes on that site. /s



Vukila #25 Posted 03 September 2020 - 06:27 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 41426 battles
  • 449
  • Member since:
    03-09-2017

View PostLethalWalou, on 03 September 2020 - 05:50 PM, said:

 

If you need information about the mod, do ask.

 

no, trying to go without mods (except xvm), its a real pain in the [edited]after the updates. but thanks anyway :)



Strapps #26 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:00 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29997 battles
  • 12,013
  • [GONAD] GONAD
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostLethalWalou, on 03 September 2020 - 03:39 PM, said:

That's a different thing. That ''waiting'' is for server reticle to catch up. It surely isn't 2 seconds, but a brief moment which is recommended to wait. Or you can install the server reticle mod that shows both your client side as well as the server side reticles for better reference.

 

How does showing both reticles differ from selecting the Server Reticle option in the vanilla client (apart from the obvious two reticles)? If I select the option, doesn't that give me the server reticle instead of my client-side reticle? Genuine question, I'm confused what the difference is between the vanilla and modded server reticle.



Obsessive_Compulsive #27 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:12 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 30282 battles
  • 8,905
  • [J1FTD] J1FTD
  • Member since:
    09-09-2014

View PostSlyspy, on 03 September 2020 - 06:07 PM, said:

 

This is because the snap shot with the inaccurate gun which actually hits is not the norm - you remember the outstanding result. Likewise when you miss with the accurate gun.


That is certainly a potential factor but it does not discount my observations. It is much more likely that dispersion values on the move and/or during turret rotation and engagement range are the 'because'



tajj7 #28 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:19 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 30818 battles
  • 18,605
  • Member since:
    03-30-2014

No it's you.

 

What I'd suggest it is, is that (based on your stats there) you are playing it too passively and too far away, you can have the best accuracy in the game but if you are taking shots at 500m you are going to miss a lot because the accuracy stat is based on 100m, so the Skorp G has 0.29 accuracy at 100m as a base stat, that means at 400m, that becomes 1.16m, so it becomes quite easy to miss targets at 400-500m, not even accounting for shot that fall outside your aim circle.

 

The Skorp G has mobility, a turret and a big gun, it's better to use it as a medium to close range support vehicle in many scenarios, rather than just a long range sniper, it has a lot more flexibility than many other TDs. 



Obsessive_Compulsive #29 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:22 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 30282 battles
  • 8,905
  • [J1FTD] J1FTD
  • Member since:
    09-09-2014

View Posttajj7, on 03 September 2020 - 07:19 PM, said:

No it's you.

 

What I'd suggest it is, is that (based on your stats there) you are playing it too passively and too far away, you can have the best accuracy in the game but if you are taking shots at 500m you are going to miss a lot because the accuracy stat is based on 100m, so the Skorp G has 0.29 accuracy at 100m as a base stat, that means at 400m, that becomes 1.16m, so it becomes quite easy to miss targets at 400-500m, not even accounting for shot that fall outside your aim circle.

 

The Skorp G has mobility, a turret and a big gun, it's better to use it as a medium to close range support vehicle in many scenarios, rather than just a long range sniper, it has a lot more flexibility than many other TDs. 


Skorp G is one pf the best tier 8 mediums in the game for sure.



LethalWalou #30 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:27 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 36564 battles
  • 4,360
  • Member since:
    09-17-2012

View PostStrapps, on 03 September 2020 - 06:00 PM, said:

 

How does showing both reticles differ from selecting the Server Reticle option in the vanilla client (apart from the obvious two reticles)? If I select the option, doesn't that give me the server reticle instead of my client-side reticle? Genuine question, I'm confused what the difference is between the vanilla and modded server reticle.

 

Yes, selecting from the settings only changes your reticle to the server side one. The mod displays both of them, and you can customize it so that they are different looking and different colour. The difference having both of them makes is that you can still use the smoother moving client side one, but you also have the information of the server side.

 

I use the middle one personally: 

 


Edited by LethalWalou, 03 September 2020 - 07:28 PM.


Strapps #31 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:50 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29997 battles
  • 12,013
  • [GONAD] GONAD
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostLethalWalou, on 03 September 2020 - 06:27 PM, said:

Yes, selecting from the settings only changes your reticle to the server side one. The mod displays both of them, and you can customize it so that they are different looking and different colour. The difference having both of them makes is that you can still use the smoother moving client side one, but you also have the information of the server side.

 

Thank you. I think it's probably better for me to stick with the server reticle in the vanilla client, I'll only get confused if I have two of them floating around!



MrKrotchy #32 Posted 03 September 2020 - 07:51 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 26939 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014

No, Skorp definitely has questionable accuracy. But your comparison is bad.

 

In my case my Skorp has ~62% hit rate while my Su130PM that I used in the same way that has 0.33 accuracy (compared to 0.28 on SkorpG) has ~72% hit rate.

 

Recently I just started using the Skorp at sub 300m because it was getting ridiculous. Latest one was on Sand river where I sat in the bush and could see the entire side of an IS3 from about 150m, I had the time to fully aim because I was unspotted. Aimed just under his turret, 1st shot hit the ground infront of him, 2nd hit his black hole armor and the 3rd finally hit and penned. That's from 150m, fully aimed, and I still had to sit there for 30s watching the reload timer like a donkey.


Edited by MrKrotchy, 03 September 2020 - 07:52 PM.


StronkiTonki #33 Posted 04 September 2020 - 05:03 AM

    Captain

  • Clan Commander
  • 37396 battles
  • 2,083
  • [T0AST] T0AST
  • Member since:
    05-27-2011
Nope, they always hit me.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users