Jump to content


How do I record replays?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

Jamezdin #1 Posted 01 March 2012 - 10:24 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 917
  • Member since:
    02-27-2011
So the title says it all, Im recently back from a long hiatus and would like to know how to record replays, since Ive heard that this feature has been added to the game.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Wingbone #2 Posted 01 March 2012 - 10:30 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 894
  • Member since:
    05-07-2011
Go into settings and you will see a check box to "Enable battle recording". The videos are saved in the "C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\replays\" folder. to play you just double click on the files, if they don't play (which happened to me) you need to associate world of tanks as the program used to open these files.

Wing

FLYVEOGLE #3 Posted 01 March 2012 - 10:32 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 654
  • Member since:
    02-02-2011
You have recorded all bettles since the patch :P

At least mine was set to record the battles as default :)

Anyways Wingbone posted direction.

The game has to be closed, and then you simply open the files :)

(Never using this myself, but people say that's how it's done)

CuP1D #4 Posted 01 March 2012 - 10:46 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 2,124
  • Member since:
    11-03-2011
Yep, as above - you need to close world of tanks and then click on the replay that you want to view - sit back and enjoy! :)

sylfin #5 Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:50 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    09-06-2011
Note that replays are not back/forward compatible with your client version. So when you record a replay in version 7.1, you can only view it back in the client version 7.1

Jamezdin #6 Posted 01 March 2012 - 12:01 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 917
  • Member since:
    02-27-2011
Thanks for all the help guys. :)

BrusilovX #7 Posted 01 March 2012 - 01:07 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 2,730
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010

View Postsylfin, on 01 March 2012 - 11:50 AM, said:

Note that replays are not back/forward compatible with your client version. So when you record a replay in version 7.1, you can only view it back in the client version 7.1
That isn't strictly true.  It is possible to play a 0.7.0 replay on a 0.7.1 client - there is a warning beforehand that the versions are no compatible but they play OK.

I have read that there will be a change in the 0.7.2 version which will mean that whatever comes before 0.7.2 will not be able to play on 0.7.2.  This is probably due to a major (?) change to what is recorded in the files.  Hopefully, the improvements that this brings will compensate for the loss.

However, you could always retain a copy of your 0.7.1 (or whatever is prior to 0.7.2) install for replaying earlier battle replays.

sylfin #8 Posted 01 March 2012 - 01:18 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    09-06-2011

View PostBrusilovX, on 01 March 2012 - 01:07 PM, said:

That isn't strictly true.  It is possible to play a 0.7.0 replay on a 0.7.1 client - there is a warning beforehand that the versions are no compatible but they play OK.

I have read that there will be a change in the 0.7.2 version which will mean that whatever comes before 0.7.2 will not be able to play on 0.7.2.  This is probably due to a major (?) change to what is recorded in the files.  Hopefully, the improvements that this brings will compensate for the loss.

However, you could always retain a copy of your 0.7.1 (or whatever is prior to 0.7.2) install for replaying earlier battle replays.

Thanks for the correction, i didn't know about the 7.0 and 7.1 compatibility.

BrusilovX #9 Posted 01 March 2012 - 01:23 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 2,730
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010

View Postsylfin, on 01 March 2012 - 01:18 PM, said:

Thanks for the correction, i didn't know about the 7.0 and 7.1 compatibility.
No problem.  I was looking forward to the ability to replay battles for a long time.

The current replays are a bit primitive with the controls and the fact you can't control the direction (no rewind) or have a truly free-format camera.

Hopefully, there will be improvements in the version with 0.7.2.

Rukahs #10 Posted 15 March 2012 - 01:18 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-27-2012
I dont have a replay folder, and i have no idea why, there is no setting in my menu either weither to record or not. hope anyone can give me some advice to how i can make it possible to record. I have looked carefully for the folder so dont give me crap about dat and also been checking meticulously for it in the game menus aswell. Would be thrilled for some news about this :)

guguloi #11 Posted 15 March 2012 - 01:26 PM

    Heart Smasher

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 2,220
  • Member since:
    02-02-2011

View PostRukahs, on 15 March 2012 - 01:18 PM, said:

[...] been checking meticulously for it in the game menus aswell.
Menu>Settings and the 'Enable battle recording' is on the bottom left hand side of the menu.
If you don't find it means you have an older WoT version installed. :D




Rukahs #12 Posted 15 March 2012 - 03:00 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-27-2012

View Postguguloi, on 15 March 2012 - 01:26 PM, said:

Menu>Settings and the 'Enable battle recording' is on the bottom left hand side of the menu.
If you don't find it means you have an older WoT version installed. :D

iv got version 7.1.1 and i still dont have it... would appreciated alternative information than ridiculous ones

Grebo #13 Posted 15 March 2012 - 11:37 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 315
  • Member since:
    10-06-2011

View Postguguloi, on 15 March 2012 - 01:26 PM, said:

Menu>Settings and the 'Enable battle recording' is on the bottom left hand side of the menu.
If you don't find it means you have an older WoT version installed. :D


As he said, in the Garage click the 'MENU' button top left. Then the 'SETTINGS' button. On the screen that pops up at the bottom left is a check box named 'Enable battle recording'  

However, I had problems with it not recording but the check box was there.

MadDogSh #14 Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:30 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 651
  • Member since:
    10-18-2010

View PostWingbone, on 01 March 2012 - 10:30 AM, said:

Go into settings and you will see a check box to "Enable battle recording". The videos are saved in the "C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\replays\" folder. to play you just double click on the files, if they don't play (which happened to me) you need to associate world of tanks as the program used to open these files.

Wing

Seems I'm complete noob in that part of game-function... does that what you just said means that if you click on "Enable battle recording" you record every battle you play, and thus filling up your folder ...\replays\ without any "warning" of any kind?
Don't know what is going on when you click on "recording" checkbox in the moment you start playing, that's true, but, if you record 15 mins of something it has some "weight" in KB,MB,... how's with that... how big/small arer those recordings?
If reasonably small, I even could start to think about enablih the recording of games.

Otherwise, is there a way, if you have clicked "Enable", to choose what you'll record, what you will not?

Say, I play this game ever since CBT, but hadn't tried recording feature, so consider me as a noob, thank you very much...  <_<

steamrick #15 Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:07 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 582
  • Member since:
    12-02-2010
Yes, it will record every battle.

Since a replay is, on average, maybe a 3/4 MB, the clutter is manageable so long as you remember to delete the unwanted replays every now and then.
After all, you don't activate the option if you're not going to ever look at them, right? So it's easy to select the replays you want to save (the ones where you awesomely kill half the enemy team) and delete the rest when you're done.

MadDogSh #16 Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:30 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 651
  • Member since:
    10-18-2010

View Poststeamrick, on 16 March 2012 - 10:07 AM, said:

Yes, it will record every battle.

Since a replay is, on average, maybe a 3/4 MB, the clutter is manageable so long as you remember to delete the unwanted replays every now and then.
After all, you don't activate the option if you're not going to ever look at them, right? So it's easy to select the replays you want to save (the ones where you awesomely kill half the enemy team) and delete the rest when you're done.
Thank you very much! +1 m8

phantom_of_the_mojave #17 Posted 03 June 2012 - 10:13 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    04-28-2012
is there a way to post them here?

miliardo #18 Posted 03 June 2012 - 12:52 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 203
  • Member since:
    04-13-2012
Yeah, just attach them or upload them to any filehosting service :)

Podolski1996 #19 Posted 22 October 2012 - 06:01 PM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    12-13-2010
Could any one help me i want to record for you tube any know how i can do that will not let me do it with fraps ??

ZEROSPIEL #20 Posted 22 October 2012 - 06:29 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 94
  • Member since:
    08-19-2011

View PostPodolski1996, on 22 October 2012 - 06:01 PM, said:

Could any one help me i want to record for you tube any know how i can do that will not let me do it with fraps ??
You can send replay here:http://www.myreplays...tLanguage=en_us